Earthquake Prone Zone

Bureau of Indian Standards, based on the past seismic history, has grouped the country into four seismic zones, viz. Zone-II, -III, -IV and –V.

  • Of these, Zone V is the most seismically active region, while zone II is the least. Seismic Zone Intensity on Modified Mercalli (MM) intensity scale associated with various zone is as follows:
  1. II (Low intensity zone) VI (or less)

  2. III (Moderate intensity zone) VII

  3. IV (Severe intensity zone) VIII

  4. V (Very severe intensity zone) IX (and above)

Different zones:


comprises of entire northeastern India, parts of

  1. Jammu and Kashmir,
  2. Himachal Pradesh,
  3. Uttaranchal,
  4. Rann of Kutch in Gujarat,
  5. parts of North Bihar and Andaman & Nicobar Islands.


covers remaining parts of

  1. Jammu & Kashmir
  2. Himachal Pradesh,
  3. Union Territory of Delhi,
  4. Sikkim,
  5. northern parts of Uttar Pradesh,
  6. Bihar
  7. West Bengal,
  8. parts of Gujarat
  9. small portions of Maharashtra near the west coast and Rajasthan.


comprises of

  1. Kerala,
  2. Goa,
  3. Lakshadweep islands,
  4. remaining parts of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu and Karnataka.


covers remaining parts of the country.

Sources: PIB.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s