Cameron and Conservatives get majority in British election

Prime Minister David Cameron and his Conservatives have won a resounding victory in the British general election. The party has secured an overall majority in Parliament.

  • Cameron will continue as Prime Minister for the second term.

Basic facts regarding United Kingdom general elections:

  • There are six types of elections in the United Kingdom:
    1. UK general elections,
    2. elections to devolved parliaments and assemblies,
    3. elections to the European Parliament,
    4. local elections,
    5. mayoral elections
    6. Police and Crime Commissioner elections.
  • The United Kingdom general election of 2015 was held on 7 May 2015 to elect the 56th Parliament of the United Kingdom.
  • There are 650 parliamentary constituencies in the United Kingdom and each elects one Member of Parliament to seats in the House of Commons, the lower house of Parliament using the “first past the post” system..
  • If one party obtains a majority of seats, then that party is entitled to form the Government.
  • If the election results in no single party having a majority, then there is a hung parliament. In this case, the options for forming the Government are either a minority government or a coalition government.


A first-past-the-post election is one that is won by the candidate receiving more votes than any others. Under first past- the-post, a country/area is divided into numerous voting areas, i.e. constituencies or wards.

  • It is one of the several plurality voting systems.
  • First-past-the-post voting methods can be used for single and multiple member elections. In a single member election the candidate with the highest number, not necessarily a majority, of votes is elected.
  • In a multiple member first-past-the-post ballot, the first number of candidates, in order of highest vote, corresponding to the number of positions to be filled are elected.

Following features of the Indian constitution were borrowed From the Constitution of U.K:

  1. Nominal Head – President (like Queen)
  2. Cabinet System of Ministers
  3. Post of PM
  4. Parliamentary Type of Govt.
  5. Bicameral Parliament
  6. Lower House more powerful
  7. Council of Ministers responsible to Lower House
  8. Speaker in Lok Sabha

Sources: The Hindu, Wiki.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s