Colombo notifies 20th Amendment

Even as certain sections of political parties in Sri Lanka continue to have reservations over the latest version of the proposed 20th Amendment, the government has gone ahead with the notification of the draft legislation in the gazette.

  • As per the decision taken by the Cabinet, the overall size of Parliament will be 237, a rise of 12 compared to the existing legislature. Of this, 145 members will be elected directly, through the system of first past the post (FPTP).

Sri Lankan political system: Basics-

  • The government of Sri Lanka is a semi-presidential system determined by the Sri Lankan Constitution.
  • The President, directly elected for a six-year term, is head of state, head of government, and commander in chief of the armed forces.
  • The election occurs under the Sri Lankan form of the contingent vote.
  • Responsible to Parliament for the exercise of duties under the constitution and laws, the president may be removed from office by a two-thirds vote of Parliament with the concurrence of the Supreme Court.
  • The President appoints and heads a cabinet of ministers responsible to Parliament.
  • The President’s deputy is the prime minister, who leads the ruling party in Parliament.
  • A parliamentary no-confidence vote requires dissolution of the cabinet and the appointment of a new one by the President.

Sources: The Hindu, Wiki.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s