“Dheepan” wins Palme d’Or at Cannes

French director Jacques Audiard’s “Dheepan”, a drama about a family of Sri Lankan refugees in Paris, was the surprise winner of Palme d’Or at the 68th Cannes Film Festival.

Other awardees:

  • French actor Vincent Lindon was named the best actor for his role of a common man in “The Measure of a Man”.
  • Emmanuelle Bercot was named the best actress for “Mon roi”.
  • Laszlo Nemes’ Holocaust drama “Son of Saul” received the Grand Prix award, the competition’s runner-up prize.
  • Taiwanese director Hou Hsiao-hsien won the best director award for “The Assassin”, a martial-arts drama set in ninth-century China.
  • The jury prize went to Greek director Yorgos Lanthimos for “The Lobster”
  • Mexican writer-director Michel Franco received the screenplay award for “Chronic”.
  • The Camera d’Or for best first film was awarded to Cesar Augusto Acevedo’s well reviewed “Land and Shade”, about a Colombian family dwelling in a flame-engulfed farmland.
  • French film director Agnes Varda was presented with the honorary Palme d’Or at the festival’s closing ceremony. She is also the first female filmmaker to ever receive the award.

2015 Cannes Film Festival- Quick facts:

  • It was the 68th annual Cannes Film Festival.
  • It is annually held in Cannes, France.
  • It previews new films of all genres, including documentaries, from around the world.
  • Founded in 1946, it is considered as the most prestigious film festival in the world and is one of the most publicised.
  • The invitation-only festival is held annually at the Palais des Festivals et des Congrès.
  • The Palme d’Or (also known as Golden Palm) is the highest prize awarded at the Cannes Film Festival.

Sources: The Hindu, Wiki.


John Nash

John Nash, the Princeton University mathematician and Nobel laureate whose towering intellect and descent into paranoid schizophrenia formed the basis of the Academy Award-winning movie A Beautiful Mind,” has died. He was 86.

john nashContributions:

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 1994 Nobel Prize in economics to Nash, John Harsanyi of the University of California-Berkeley and Reinhard Selten of the University of Bonn in Germany for their work in game theory, which seeks to understand how people, governments and companies cooperate and compete.

Nash was honoured for his early insights, still widely used in economics, into how rivals shift or maintain strategies and allegiances. The Nash Equilibrium describes the moment when all parties are pursuing their best-case scenario and wouldn’t change course even if a rival does. It has been widely applied to matters including military face-offs, industrial price wars and labour negotiations.

Sources: The Hindu, BS.

£52,000 to save the bustard

Pramod Patil, a pune-based ornithologist,

has planned to help conserve the great Indian bustard ( Ardeotis nigriceps ) with £52,000 (about Rs. 50 lakh), which he got as the prize money with the Whitley Award for his work to save the critically endangered bird.

  • The money will be channelled through BirdLife International, an international non-governmental organisation involved in conserving birds and their habitats.
  • The bulk of the funds will be devoted to projects in the Thar desert as it is one of the last refuges of this great bird.

indian bustard

Great Indian Bustard:

The Great Indian Bustard is currently listed under the category of Critically Endangered birds, in the 2013 ‘Threatened Bird’ list by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

  • There are less than 250 bustards left in the country.
  • It inhabits arid and semi-arid grasslands with scattered short scrub, bushes and low intensity cultivation in flat or gently undulating terrain.
  • In India it is legally protected and there are severe penalties for killing an individual.
  • It occurs in the Indian Subcontinent, with former strongholds in the Thar desert in the north-west and the Deccan tableland of the Peninsula. It has been extirpated from 90% of its former range and is now principally confined to Rajasthan, with smaller populations in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Madhya Pradesh.

Sources: The Hindu, Wiki.

BOOKER FOR Hungarian

Hungarian writer Laszlo Krasznahorkai was given the Man Booker International Prize for 2015 at a ceremony held recently for his “achievement in fiction on the world stage”.

Laszlo Krasznahorkai (लाज़्लो क्रासज़नाोरकाई)

  1. His first novel, Satantango (1985

Man Booker International Prize:

Awarded for      : Best original novel, written in the English language, and published in the UK

Location            : London, England

Presented by    : Man Group

First awarded    :1969

The literary prize, worth £ 60,000 is awarded to a living author of any nationality who has published fiction either in English or in English translation.

  • Unlike the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction, the Man Booker International Prize, which is awarded once in two years, is in recognition of a writer’s body of work and overall contribution to fiction rather than to a single novel.
  • The award, which is sponsored by the Man Group, complements the Man Booker Prize and rewards one author’s continued creativity, development and overall contribution to fiction on the world stage.


1997 Arundhati Roy


The God of Small Things Novel India
2006 Kiran Desai


The Inheritance of Loss Novel India
2008 Aravind Adiga


The White Tiger Novel India

Sources: The Hindu, Wiki.