Three in a row for Sania-Hingis

Sania Mirza has created history by becoming the first woman tennis player from India to achieve the world No. 1 ranking in doubles after her stupendous title win at the WTA Family Circle Cup with partner Martina Hingis here.

Quick facts:

  • Sania and Hingis have already become the world No. 1 team in the Race to Singapore, the season-finale, where the top eight teams will compete at the end of year.
  • Before Sania, only Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhuapthi had achieved the top ranking when they dominated the men’s doubles circuit in the last 1990s.
  • It is Sania’s third successive title with Hingis and the pair has been unbeaten since joining forces in March 2015. They won the title in Indian Wells, their first tournament together, and followed it up with a victory at Miami.

Sources: The Hindu.


Sebi imposes Rs 86 cr penalty on DLF

The Securities and Exchange Board of India (Sebi) has imposed a total penalty of Rs 86 crore on real estate major DLF and 40 related entities, including subsidiaries and key officials. The matter relates to disclosures made at the time of its Initial Public Offer (IPO) in 2007.

About SEBI:

The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) is the regulator for the securities market in India. It was established in the year 1988 and given statutory powers on 12 April 1992 through the SEBI Act, 1992.


SEBI is composed of

  1. The chairman who is nominated by Union Government of India.
  2. Two members, i.e., Officers from Union Finance Ministry.
  3. One member from the Reserve Bank of India.
  4. The remaining five members are nominated by Union Government of India, out of them at least three shall be whole-time members.

For the discharge of its functions efficiently, SEBI has been vested with the following powers:

  • To approve by−laws of stock exchanges.
  • To require the stock exchange to amend their by−laws.
  • Inspect the books of accounts and call for periodical returns from recognized stock exchanges.
  • Inspect the books of accounts of financial intermediaries.
  • Compel certain companies to list their shares in one or more stock exchanges.
  • Registration of brokers.

Sources: The Hindu, Wiki.

National Sports Awards Schemes Revamped

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has revised the Schemes of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award, Dhyan Chand Award and Dronacharya Awards.

In the revised Scheme, following major amendments have been made:

  • Selection Committee for Arjuna Award will be headed by Retired Judge of Supreme Court/High Court. A sportsperson of eminence/sports administrator/sports expert belonging to para sports will be member in Selection Committee for Arjuna Awards.
  • Not more than one sportsperson of eminence/coach from a particular sports discipline shall be a member of the Selection Committee to avoid any bias in favour of a particular discipline.
  • Nomination agencies are expected to send nominations of most deserving sportsperson(s)/coach(es) irrespective of whether sportspersons/coaches have applied to them for awards.
  • For Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Awards and Dronacharya Awards, the weightage for performance in sports events has been reduced from 90% to 80% and weightage of marks to be given by the Selection
  • Committee for factors like profile and standard of sports events has been increased from 10% to 20%. This will increase say of the Selection Committee in the process of selection and give sufficient paly to the profile and standard of sports events in determination of awardees.

Different awards:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna:

  • The scheme was launched in the year 1991-92 with the objective of honouring sports persons to enhance their general status and to give them greater dignity and place of honour in society.
  • Under this scheme, an amount of Rs. 5 lakhs is given as award for the most spectacular and outstanding performance in the field of sports by an individual sportsperson or a team.


  • The Dronacharya Award, instituted in 1985, honours eminent Coaches who have successfully trained sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions.


  • The Arjuna Awards were instituted in 1961. To be eligible for the Award, a sportsperson should have had not only good performance consistently for the previous three years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended, but also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

Dhyan Chand Award

  • It is India’s highest award for lifetime achievement in sports and games.
  • The award is named after the legendary Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand.

Sources: PIB, Wiki,